Resize Font
State Election Commission

 Since the population of Goa is less than twenty lakhs, the State of Goa has adopted a two tier system of Panchayati Raj. So, we have two Zilla Panchayats at the District level. They are Zilla Panchayat of North Goa District and Zilla Panchayat of South Goa District. At the village level there are 190 Village Panchayats spread over 11 Talukas. Besides, for the City of Panaji there is a Municipal Corporation of City of  Panaji. There are also 12 Municipal Councils in the State. They are Municipal Councils of Pemem, Mapusa, Bicholim, Valpoi, Ponda, Sanguem, Quepem, Margao, Mormugao, Canacona, Cuncolim and Curchorem-Cacora.

The General elections to elect the members of the Municipal Corporation of the I City of Panaji, the members of Zilla Panchayats, Councillors of Municipal Councils and  the members of different wards of the Village Panchayats are conducted by the Goa state Election Commission. Whenever seats in the wards of the Village Panchayats or Municipal Councils fall vacant, the State Election Commission is required to conduct bye-elections to fill up the vacant seats

Where the mind is without fear and the head is held high; Where knowledge is free; Where the world has not been broken up into fragments by narrow domestic walls; Where words come out from the depth of truth; Where tireless striving stretches its arms towards perfection; Where the clear stream of reason has not lost its way into the dreary desert sand of dead habit; Where the mind is led forward by thee into ever-widening thought and action; Into that heaven of freedom, my Father, let my country awake.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               -Rabindranath Tagore

Home| Other Links| Goa News| Contact Us| Disclaimer
Best viewed in 1080x1024 pixels