GOA STATE ELECTION COMMISSION ALTINHO, PANAJI-GOA

Tel. Commissioner: 2232632 / Secretary: 2232631. Fax: 0832-2431881/E-Mail: comm-gsec.goa@nic.in

No. 4/28/Bye-election/ ZP-2022/SEC 3971

Date: 21.09.2022

NOTIFICATION

Whereas, the Bye Elections to 12- Reis Magos Zilla Panchayat Constituency of North Goa Zilla Panchayat and 13- Davorlim and 25- Cortalim Zilla Panchayat Constituency of South Goa Zilla Panchayat will be held on 16th October, 2022 and the polling will be from 8.00 hrs. to 17.00 hrs.

And whereas, Rule 34A of the The Goa Panchayat and Zilla Panchayat (Election Procedures) Rules, 1996 provides for an indelible ink mark to be put on the left forefinger of every voter before issue of ballot paper at the Polling Station. This is aimed at Polling at preventing impersonation at the voting.

And whereas, the General Election to 186 Village Panchayat in the State of Goa was held on 10th August, 2022 and similar indelible ink mark has been put on the left forefinger of every voter. Hence there is a possibility that this mark may still be partially visible on the left forefinger of some of the voters.

Now, therefore, in order to avoid confusion and to prevent impersonation by voters without causing hardships to genuine voters and in exercise of the powers vested under Article 243K of the Constitution of India and also under Section 237 of the The Goa Panchayat Raj Act, 1994 read with Rule 45 of the Goa Panchayat and Zilla Panchayat (Election Procedure) Rules, 1996 it is hereby directed that the indelible ink mark shall be put on **left middle finger** of every voter at the polling Station before issue of ballot paper.

WV Ramanamurthy/IAS (Retd.)

Commissioner

Goa State Election Commission

To,

The Director, Government Printing Press, Panaji for publishing in the Extraordinary Official Gazette.

Copy to;

- 1. The Chief Secretary, Government of Goa, Secretariat, Porvorim Goa.
- 2. The Secretary (Panchayats), Secretariat, Porvorim Goa.
- 3. The Collector North Goa, Panaji Goa.
- 4. The Collector South Goa, Margao Goa.
- 5. The Director of Panchayat Govt. of Goa.
- 6. The RO's/ARO's for Bye Election to 12- Reis Magos Zilla Panchayat Constituency of North Goa Zilla Panchayat and 13- Davorlim and 25- Cortalim Zilla Panchayat Constituency of South Goa Zilla Panchayat.
- 7. Guard file.