

GOA STATE ELECTION COMMISSION

ALTINHO, PANAJI-GOA

Tel. Commissioner: 2232632 / Secretary: 2232631. Fax: 0832-2431881/E-Mail: comm-gsec.goa@nic.in

No. 4/45/BYE ELN/ ZP/2024-25/SEC / 25

Date: 31 .05.2024

NOTIFICATION

WHEREAS, the Bye Election to 12- Benaulim Zilla Panchayat Constituency of South Goa Zilla Panchayat in Salcete Taluka will be held on **23**rd **June**, **2024**. The polling will be from 8.00 hrs. to 17.00 hrs.

AND WHEREAS, Rule 34A of the The Goa Panchayat and Zilla Panchayat (Election Procedures) Rules, 1996 provides for an indelible ink mark to be put on the left forefinger of every voter before issue of ballot paper at the Polling Station. This is aimed at preventing impersonation at the polling station.

AND WHEREAS, the Elections to Two Parliamentary Constituencies of Lok Sabha 2024 in the State of Goa will be held on 7th May, 2024 and as per Rule 49K of the Conduct of Election Rules 1961 , similar indelible ink mark has to be put on the left forefinger of every voter to safeguard against personation . Hence there is possibility that this mark may partially visible on the left forefinger of some of the voters.

NOW THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers vested under Article 243K of the Constitution of India and also under Section 237 of the Goa Panchayat Raj Act, 1994 read with Rule 45 of the Goa Panchayat and Zilla Panchayat (Election Procedure) Rules,1996, it is hereby directed that the indelible ink mark shall be put on left middle finger of every voter of 12- Benaulim Zilla Panchayat Constituency of South Goa Zilla Panchayat in Salcete Taluka at the polling station before issue of ballot paper instead of left forefinger. If the voter has his left middle finger missing then the ink should be applied on any finger of his right hand.

WV Ramanamurthy, IAS (Retd.)

Commissioner

Goa State Election Commission

To,

The Director, Government Printing Press, Panaji for publishing in the Extraordinary Official Gazette.

Copy to;

- 1. The Chief Secretary, Government of Goa, Secretariat, Porvorim Goa.
- 2. The Secretary (Panchayats), Secretariat, Porvorim Goa.
- 3. The Collector South Goa, Margao Goa.
- 4. The Director of Panchayat Govt. of Goa.
- 5. The Returning Officers (RO) / Assistant Returning Officers (ARO) for Bye Election to 12- Benaulim Zilla Panchayat Constituency of South Goa Zilla Panchayat.
- 6. Guard file.